Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis

Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis is a classic series of seven high fantasy novels that have been (regretfully) adapted for radio, television, the stage, film and video games.

The books span the entire history of the fictional realm of Narnia, from its creation in The Magician’s Nephew to its eventual destruction in The Last Battle.

The protagonists are all children from the real world who are magically transported to Narnia, where they are sometimes called upon by the lion Aslan to protect Narnia from evil.

The main themes of The Chronicles of Narnia are love, sacrifice, and redemption. These themes are reflective of Lewis’ Christian background and are explored throughout the series.

In The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Aslan sacrifices himself to save Narnia from the White Witch, demonstrating the power of self-sacrifice.

In The Magician’s Nephew, temptation is a recurring theme as the Witch attempts to lure the protagonists away from their mission. In The Last Battle, the themes of death and resurrection are explored as Aslan brings new life to Narnia.

What I Liked

Chronicles of Narnia and His Dark Materials are the two best series of youth fantasy books ever published.

Because here’s the thing. Anyone who argues for Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter is wrong. I mean, those series are fine and all. I’m genuinely glad they have fans…but they just aren’t on the same level.

For me – here’s a key metric. C.S. Lewis was able to build a richer world with way fewer words than Tolkien or Rowling ever came close to achieving. He is able to build a multi-generational world that addresses every big human theme in a way that is fun to read as an adult while still being accessible to a 6 year old. It’s

What I Did Not Like

I did not like that different producers / directors ever thought that they could adapt Narnia to a movie. The rich density of the books just don’t work in other mediums.

Share via...

Similar Posts