The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman


The Secret Commonwealth is a fantasy novel and the second volume of Philip Pullman’s planned trilogy, The Book of Dust. The story is set twenty years after the events of La Belle Sauvage and ten years after the conclusion of the His Dark Materials trilogy.

The book features Lyra Silvertongue as a twenty-year-old undergraduate, travelling to Central Asia via the Levant. Lyra investigates a murder case with Malcolm Polstead. In search of a town haunted by dæmons and the mystery behind Dust, Lyra faces adult concerns and new complexities in her relationship with Pantalaimon.

What I Liked

I love all things His Dark Materials, Lyra, and Philip Pullman.

What I Did Not Like

I…kind of wish he hadn’t expanded the original trilogy.

Share via...

Similar Posts